Rocky

Elbow Sex & Assholes: Rocky Horror Picture Show Live!

Okay, wow, I am doing so many things on my bucket list on the weekends, lately. I have been a fan of The Rocky Horror Picture Show since I was a sophomore in high school. I had my two best friends over to my house on my sixteenth birthday and we had been at the mall earlier and bought a couple of movies to watch that night. I came across Rocky Horror and remembered it from when I had read The Perks of Being a Wallflower, but had no idea what it actually was. It must have been pretty cheap, cause I bought it on a whim and then we started our night with it.

And, wow.

What a long, strange, wonderful journey.

rhps_057Mopping

We were—or, I was at least—wary when the opening sequence and the bright red lips came on, but by the first line of “Dammit, Janet,” we were infatuated. By “The Time Warp,” we were in love. So, I’ve loved Rocky Horror for awhile. I watched the Glee episode. I’ve talked about dressing up as Magenta for years. But, I’ve never been to a live show. So, when I heard that our student enter here was putting on a live show, I jumped right on that crazy train. It was amazing! The minute we walked in I knew that it was going to be good from the Magenta and Riff Raff who greeted us at the door in character to the packed theater. The cast was phenomenal, the audience was hyped-up and excited and the overall experience was three of my favorite things: funny, dirty and stimulating. Overall, and I think this may be with most live performances of the show from what I’ve heard about it, it just felt like a very shared experience. It wasn’t like some movies or shows that you go to and only some of the people get the jokes or references, or they only laugh occasionally. We all laughed together as a group, with each other, at each other, at the same jokes.

I’m glad that I went. I really, really, really hope that they do it again soon, so that I can go again. I would seriously recommend that if you have the chance to go to a show that you do. It was a really nice way to spend a Saturday night overall.

Bag_4

Leave a Reply

